Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

Tone

United Kingdom
36 Posts

Posted - 09 Nov 2019 :  19:55:35  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi All, Should a rev counter work if you have it out of the dash, connect a wire from the + side of coil around the“ pulse”connection on the back of the Rev counter to battery+
Then another wire from battery + to spade on back of Rev counter?
Then start car! Or is there any other way of bench testing?
As you can probably tell I’m not an electrician! So any help would be gratefully received.
Cheers Tone.

Panky

United Kingdom
70 Posts

Posted - 09 Nov 2019 :  22:14:30  Show Profile  Visit Panky's Homepage  Send Panky an AOL message  Reply with Quote
Pretty sure the connection to the coil should be to the -ve terminal (if negative earth) and posibly a chasis ground connection too from somewhere on the gauge.
Your gauge should connections be shown on here somewhere, click on the 'How do I wire up my Tachometer' link from the FAQ's

https://speedycables.com/faqs/

Edited by - Panky on 09 Nov 2019 22:17:55
Go to Top of Page

Sunbeam-mike

United Kingdom
164 Posts

Posted - 10 Nov 2019 :  10:14:01  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi

Surely the diagrams in the link are wrong.

As Tone mentioned our tachos have a 'pulse' loop inside the tacho.

the 'RVI' tachos shown are not the same.

Try this:

https://www.sw-em.com/Smith%27s%20Tachometer.htm

It's a bit of a long read but basically explains that you power the tacho with 12v and then wire the pulse loop in line with the ignition-to-coil wire separately.

To bench test you would have to rig up a circuit to generate current (1 Amp?) pulses through this loop.

Mike Hooper
Go to Top of Page

pruyter

Netherlands
320 Posts

Posted - 10 Nov 2019 :  11:02:16  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi Tone,